How to set or edit Accounts User Permissions

The Account module requires that you set a number of User Permissions and default details. To set the Accounts User Permissions, follow these steps:

1. Log in as Administrator

Only the Administrator can set or edit User Permissions.

2. Open the Accounts User Permissions window

To access the Accounts User Permissions you can either use the Accounts Setup Tool or launch from the main menu.

2.1. From the Accounts Setup Tool

If you haven't yet completed the Accounts Setup tool, you can set your Accounts User Permissions from the Accounts Setup tool. To access this click the Accounts button in the main toolbar and then select 'Accounts Setup'. For instructions on how to use the Accounts Setup tool please see: How to use the Accounts Setup Guide.

When the Accounts Setup tool opens, click 'Set Accounts User Permissions'.

2.2. From the Main Menu

To edit the User Permissions at any time, click the 'Tools' button in the top toolbar and then click 'Administative', then 'Preferences'.

Now go to the User Permissions tab.

3. Set the User Permissions

Within the User Permissions tab, the Administrator has the ability to set which user has the permission to perform different types of account functions.

3.1. Allow Access to Reports

This setting determines whether a User can access and produce reports in Migration Manager. This include the Accounts Reports.

3.2. Allow Access to Accounts

If this setting is not ticked, then a User is unable to access the Accounts tab in a matter or use any of the features on the Accounts button on the main toolbar.

3.3. Allow User to Add Accounts Entries

If this setting is not ticked, then a User can not record any Fees, Costs or Disbursements in any matter.

3.4. Allow User to Edit/Delete Accounts Entries

If this setting is not ticked, then a User can not edit or delete any existing accounts entry such as Fees, Costs or Disbursements.

3.5. Allow User to Reverse Accounts Entries

If this setting is not ticked, then a User can not reverse any accounts entries such as receipts and invoices.

3.6. Allow User to Back-Date Accounts Entries

If this setting is not ticked, then a User can not add an Accounts entry with a date prior to today.

3.7. Allow User to Merge Accounts Documents

If this setting is not ticked, then a User can not merge or print any accounting document such as a Receipt or Invoice.

3.8. Allow Users to Approve Invoices

If this setting is not ticked, then the User can not change the status of an Invoice from anything other than Draft - Unapproved.

3.9. Allow User to Finalise Invoices

If this setting is not ticked, then the User can not change the status of an Invoice from anything other than Draft - Unapproved or Draft - Approved. The User can not set the Invoice to 'Final - Printed/Sent'.

3.10. Allow Access to Bank Reconcilliation and Bank Statements

If this setting is not ticked, then the User can not access or make use of the Bank Reconcilliation tools.

3.11. Default Rate per Hour

Use this field to set the default hourly billing rate (excluding GST) for each person to be used where a Fee Code's rate is set to use the User's Hourly Rate.

4. Close

Once you have finished entering all of your relevant Accounts User Permissions, click 'Save & Exit' to finish.